Anthony Awards Announced

Canadian author Louise Penny won the 2010 Anthony Award for best novel for her The Brutal Telling. It also won the Agatha earlier this year.

Penny’s new book, Bury Your Dead, continues the Armand Gamache series and has been receiving acclaim. It was starred by all four of the prepub review media, is a People magazine Pick, (the review that called it her best yet) and is on the NYT Hardcover Fiction extended list. The only naysayer so far is Marilyn Stasio, who in her recent NYT BR mystery column, said that a “dubious device undermines the much more interesting central narrative.”

Bury Your Dead: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel (Three Pines Mysteries)
Louise Penny
Retail Price: $24.99
Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Minotaur Books – (2010-09-28)
ISBN / EAN: 0312377045 / 9780312377045

Large Print; Thorndike; available now; 9781410431721; $32.99

The first book in the series, Still Life, won an Anthony for Best First Novel.

Below are the nominees and winners in the full-length novel categories, with information on each author’s next book, where available.



  • The Brutal Telling, Louise Penny (Minotaur Books); Bury Your Dead, 9/28, is the 6th in the Armand Gamache series
  • Finalists:



  • A Bad Day for Sorry, Sophie Littlefield, (Minotaur Books); A Bad Day for Pretty came out in June. The author published a YA title, Banished, (Delacorte Young Readers) this month
  • Finalists:

  • The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie: A Flavia de Luce Mystery, Alan Bradley, (Delacorte Press); the next book in the series came out in March, The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag
  • Starvation Lake, Bryan Gruley, (Touchstone); the next book in the series, The Hanging Tree was published in August
  • The Ghosts of Belfast, Stuart Neville (Soho Press); the sequel, Collusion, came out this month
  • In the Shadow of Gotham, Stefanie Pintoff (Minotaur Books); A Curtain Falls came out in May


  • Starvation Lake, Bryan Gruley, (Touchstone); the next book in the series, The Hanging Tree, was published in August
  • Finalists:

    For Best Short Story and Best Critical Nonfiction winners, link here.

    Comments are closed.