BEA 12 — Librarians Picks

Librarians talked about their discoveries from the BEA show at the fourth annual Librarians’ Shout ‘n’ Share. Selections are below — asterisks indicate that other panelists also picked the title.

Barbara Genco, Manager of Special Projects, Library Journal

**The Absolutist by John Boyne, Other Press, 7/10/12 — for fans of Downton Abbey. Digital ARC on Edelweiss and NetGalley.

Pirate Cinema by Cory Doctorow,  Macmillan/Tor Teen, 10/2/12

Leonardo and the Last Supper by Ross King, Walker, 10/30/12 — eGalley from NetGalley

Sutton by J.R. Moehringer, Hyperion, 9/25/12

Eight Girls Taking Pictures by Whitney Otto, S&S/Scribner, 11/6/12

Abbey Road: The Best Studio in the World, by Alistair Lawrence, Bloomsbury USA, 10/16/12

Food Porn:

Consider the Fork by Bee Wilson, Perseus/Basic Books, 10/9/12 – eGalley on NetGalley

Bouchon Bakery by Thomas Keller, Workman/Artisan, 10/23/12

John Saturnall’s Feast by Lawrence Norfolk, Grove Press, 8/13/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss and NetGalley

The Unofficial Downton Abbey CookbookAdams Media, 9/18/12

Alene Moroni, King County Public Library, WA

The Art of Procrastination: A Guide to Effective Dawdling, Lollygagging and Postponing by John Perry, Workman, 9/11/12– eGalley on NetGalley

Blasphemy: New and Selected Stories by Sherman Alexie, Grove Press, 10/2/12

The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber, RH/Ballantine, 8/14/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss and NetGalley

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, Scholastic, 9/18/12, Teaser Excerpt

Heaven Should Fall by Rebecca Coleman, Harlequin/MIRA, 9/25/12 — author of The Kingdom of Childhood

Life Among Giants by Bill Roorback, Workman/Algonquin, 11/13/12 — eGalley on NetGalley

The Last Policeman by Ben Winter, Quirk Books, 7/10/12

Grace Grows by Shelle Sumners, Macmillan/St. Martin’s Griffin – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

The Middlesteins by Jami Attenborough, Hachette/Grand Central, 10/23/12

The Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell, RH/Soho Press, 2/5/13

Breed by Scott Spenser writing as Chase Novak, Hachette/Mulholland, 9/4/12

The Blackhouse by Peter May, Sterling/Silver Oak, Oct, 2012

**The Stockholm Octavo by Karen Engelmann, Harper/Ecco, Oct 23, 2012 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

The Prophet by Michael Kortya, Hachette/Little,Brown, 8/7/12

Three Parts Dead by Max Gladstone, Macmillan/Tor, 10/2/12

**The Headmaster’s Wager by Vincent Lam, 8/14/12, RH/Crown/Hogarth – Digital ARC on Edelweiss and NetGalley

Read This!: Handpicked Favorites from America’s Bookstores, Coffee House Press, Sept. 2012

Skulls: An Exploration of Alan Dudley’s Curious Collection, by Simon Winchester, 10/9/12, Workman/Black Dog & Leventhal– eGalley on NetGalley

My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop by Ronald Rice (Editor), Workman/Black Dog & Leventhal, 11/13/12

I Could Pee on This: and Other Poems by Cats by Francesco Marciuliano, Chronicle Books, 8/15/12

Knit London: 10 Iconic London Projects by Emma King Sterling/Collins & Brown, 8/7/12

Fade to Black: Hard Rock Cover Art of the Vinyl Age by Martin Popoff, Sterling, 10/2/12

Led Zeppelin: The Oral History of the World’s Greatest Rock Band by Barney Hoskyns, Wiley, 11/6/12

Monty Python’s Flying Circus: Complete and Annotated…All the Bits by Luke Dempsy, Workman/Black Dog & Leventhal

A Lady of Expectations and Other Stories by Stephanie Laurens and others, Harlequin

The Shadow Queen by Bertrice Small, Harlequin, 2009

What an Earl Wants by Kasey Michaels, Harlequin

Indiscreet by Candace Camp, Harlequin

Douglas Lord, Library Journal’s “Book for Dudes” columnist

The Yard by Alex Grecian, Penguin/Putnam, 5/29/12 — “The Victorian version of Rush Hour

Dead Men by Richard Pierce, Overlook, 5/24/12

Justice at Cardwell Ranch by BJ Daniels, Harlequin Intrigue, 10/2/12 — It was difficult to tell which Doug liked better, the book or the cowboy  bookmark

**Hidden Things by Doyce Testerman, Harper Voyager, 8/1/12 — crime novel with magical overtones – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

Surviving Survival: The Art and Science of Resilience, Laurence Gonzales,  (Norton) – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

Ballparking: Practical Math for Impractical Sports Questions, Aaron Santos, Perseus/Running Press, May, 2012

Randy Bachman’s Vinyl Tap Stories, Randy Bachman, Penguin/Pintail, 9/23/12

The Encyclopedia of Heavy Metal: Completely Revised and Updated Edition, Daniel Bukszpan,  Sterling, 12/4/12

Fobbit by David Abrams, Grove Atlantic/Black Cat, 9/4/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss and on NetGalley

Kaite Mediatore Stover, Kansas City Public Library, MO

**Mr Penumbra’s 24 Hour Book Store by Robin Sloan, Macmillan/FSG. 10/2 — Night Circus meets Shadow of the Wind, and they both wave hello to Ready Player One

**The Art Forger: A Novel by B. A. Shapiro, Workman/Algonquin Books, 10/23/12 — eGalley on NetGalley

Up Jumps the Devil by Michael Poore, HarperCollins/Ecco, 7/3/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

**The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe, RH/Knopf, 8/2/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

Say Nice Things about Detroit: A Novel, by Scott Lasser, Norton, 7/2/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

**The Age of Desire by Jennie Fields, Penguin/Pamela Dorman, 8/2/12  — “this summer’s Loving Frank or The Paris Wife– eGalley on NetGalley

Miriam Tuliao, New York Public Library

Office Girl by Joe Meno, Akashic Books, July, 2012

Born this Way: Real Stories of Growing Up Gay by Paul Vitagliano, Quirk, 11/6/12

Crazy Brave by Joy Harjo, Norton, 7/9/12 —  ”a startling memoir — for fans of Townie and Wild” – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

**Elsewhere by Richard Russo, RH/Knopf, 11/13/12  – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

Lost in America: A Dead End Journey by Colby Buzzelli, Harper, came out in 2011

Robin Beerbower, Salem Public Library, OR

**The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison, Workman/Algonquin, 8/28/12– eGalley from NetGalley

The Care and Handling of Roses with Thorns by Margaret Dilloway, Penguin/Putnam, 8/2/12

In Sunlight and in Shadow by Mark Helprin, HMH, 10/2/12

Kill You Twice by Chelsea Cain, Macmillan/Minotaur, 8/7/12

Stranger in the Room by Amanda Kyle Williams, RH/Bantam, 8/21/12

Trust Your Eyes by Lynwood Barclay, Penguin/NAL, 9/4/12 — “the Rodney Dangerfield of domestic terror — he should be as big as Harlan Coban”

**Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino, Macmillan/Minotaur 10/2/12

**Up all Night by Carol Miller, Harper/Ecco, 8/28/12

Who I Am by Pete Townshend, Harper, 10/8/12

Mick Jagger by Philip Norman, HarperCollins/Ecco, 10/2/12

**Dearie by Bob Spitz, RH/Knopf, 8/7/12  – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

My Berlin Kitchen, by Luisa Weiss, Penguin/Viking, 9/13/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss and NetGalley

White Jacket Required:A Culinary Coming-of-Age Story by Jenna Webber, Sterling Epicure, 9/4/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

CookFight: 2 Cooks, 12 Challenges, 125 Recipes, an Epic Battle for Kitchen Dominance by Julia Moskin and Kim Severson, Harper/Ecco, 10/10/12

**Every Day by David Leviathan, RH/Knopf Young Readers, 8/28/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss and NetGalley

Thomas Jefferson’s Crème Brulee: How a Founding Father and His Slave James Hemings Introduced French Cuisine to America, Thomas J. Craughwell, Quirk, 9/18/12

Kept in the Dark, Penny Hancock, Penguin/Plume, 8/28– Digital ARC on Edelweiss and NetGalley

The Drowning House, Elizabeth Black, RH/Doubleday/Nan A. Talese, 1/15/13– Digital ARC on Edelweiss and NetGalley

Wendy Bartlett, Cuyahoga County Public Library, OH

**The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton, S&S/Atria, 10/16/12

The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde, Harcourt. 9/5/12 — for the tweener end of YA. Features a boy and a girl (so it won’t turn off boys this age); first novel for young readers, first in a series, The Chronicles of Kazam

**Juliet in August by Dianne Warren, Penguin/Putnam/Einhorn, 7/5/12  – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

**The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin, HarperCollins, 8/1/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

The Cutting Season by Attica Locke, Harper, 8/28/12  – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

**The Light Between Oceans by ML Steadman, S&S/Scribner, 7/31 – eGalley from NetGalley

Found: The Secrets of Crittenden County, Book Three by Shelley Shepard Gray, HarperCollins/Avon Inspire, 9/4/12   — Digital ARC on Edelweiss

The Forgetting Tree by Tatiana Soji, Macmillan/St. Martin’s, 9/4/12

The Roots of the Olive Treeby Courtney Miller Santo, Harper/Morrow, 8/21/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

**Ratlines by Stuart Neville, RH/Soho Crime, 1/2/12

Angels Ink: The Asylum Tales by Jocelynn Drake, Harper/Vogayer, 9/26/12 – Digital ARC on Edelweiss

**Jack 1939 by Francine Mathews, Penguin/Riverhead, 7/5/12 — want to make this a hit in Cuyahoga. It’s an easy sell. All you need to say is,”There was no CIA in 1939.  JFK travels to Europe to research his Harvard senior thesis (which he actually did); Franklin Roosevelt asks him to gather intelligence on what the Nazis are up to.”

**Mrs Queen Takes the Train by William Kuhn, Harper, 10/16/12  – Digital ARC on Edelweiss