A Humorous Interlude

The finalists for the 2008 Thurber Prize for American Humor (for books published in CY 2007) have been announced:

Larry Doyle for I Love You, Beth Cooper, HarperCollins

Judge Firoozeh Dumas (Laughing Without an Accent and Funny in Farsi) says,

Clearly Larry Doyle was not the BOMC (“Big Man on Campus” for those of you who have suppressed the Eighties.) Had Larry been cool, he could have never written I Love You, Beth Cooper, a hilarious yet painfully accurate account of high school in all its pimply glory.


Patricia Marx for Him He Him Again The End of Him, S&S

Judge Robert Kaplow (The Cat Who Killed Lillian Jackson Braun: A Parody, and Me and Orson Welles: A Novel, among others) says,

…the care and exactness of language itself elevates the story into something more artful than simply a comic novel. There is a real sense of a complicated and contradictory human being, and it infuses every page of the novel.


Simon Rich for Ant Farm, Random House

Judge Christopher Buckley says the book is notable “for its youth and freshness and impertinence,” and Jon Stewart, the 2006 winner, called the book “hilarious.”

The winner will be announced Oct. 6.

Previous winners are:

  • 1997  Ian Frazier for Coyote vs. Acme
  • 1999  The editorial staff of The Onion for Our Dumb Century
  • 2001  David Sedaris for Me Talk Pretty One Day
  • 2004  [prize became annual] Christopher Buckley for No Way to Treat a First Lady
  • 2005  Jon Stewart, Ben Karlin and David Javerbaum for America (The Book): A Citizen’s Guide to Democracy Inaction.
  • 2006  Alan Zweibel for The Other Shulman
  • 2007  Joe Keenan for My Lucky Star

Comments are closed.