R.A. Clipping File — Mysteries

The Independent Mystery Booksellers Association has finally posted their five picks for April (cut them some slack, they may have been sidetracked by the larger mystery of income tax returns). All the selections will be of interest to readers advisors, but selection librarians will want to check in to Hoodoo by Susan Cummins Miller. It has not been reviewed prepub and is therefore not owned widely (even though the author’s earlier works are)

Hoodoo (Book Four; Frankie McFarlane Series)

Susan Cummins Miller

  • Hardcover: $24.95
  • Publisher: Texas Tech University Press (March 3, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 0896726231
  • ISBN-13: 978-0896726239

Barbara Peters of the Poisoned Pen bookstore in Scottsdale writes, “While Miller’s publisher is a university press, her works are not at all dry, but are grounded soundly in her specialty [geology] and will appeal to fans of Sarah Andrew, Nevada Barr, and in Hoodoo, Tony Hillerman.”

Speaking of Nevada Barr, Marilyn Stasio says in her Sunday NY Times Book Review Mystery column that in Winter Study, Barr’s first mystery in three years, “she seems to have been saving up all the special effects. The blizzards, the dangerous ice and the manhunts through the frozen woods are described with crisp, hard-edged beauty. And the wolves, those maligned ‘ogres of childhood,’ are magnificent.”

  • Hardcover:$24.95
  • Publisher: Putnam Adult (April 1, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 0399154582
  • ISBN-13: 978-0399154584
  • Audio CD: $34.99
  • Publisher: Recorded Books (April 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 1428198083
  • ISBN-13: 978-1428198081

Sarah Weinman (Confessions of an Idosyncratic Mind) selects Jesse Kellerman’s The Genius as one of her Picks of the Week, saying it is even better than his first two thrillers. Marilyn Stasio also features it as the lead review in her Mystery column. Jesse, of course, is the son of bestselling writers Faye and Jonathan Kellerman. The Chicago Sun Times mystery columnist adds to the chorus, with one small caution, “The world [protagonist] Muller inhabits is interesting, as is he himself, even if he does have an annoying habit of talking directly to the reader as part of an overly self-conscious meta-narrative. Still, there’s no denying the gripping power of the inventive plot, nor the depth of the characters the author has created.”

  • Hardcover: $24.95
  • Publisher: Putnam Adult (April 10, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 0399154590
  • ISBN-13: 978-0399154591
  • Audio CD: $29.95, Unabridged
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio (April 10, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 0143143131
  • ISBN-13: 978-0143143130

Comments are closed.