LibraryReads, July List

Just in time to load your reading devices for the weekend, the July LibraryRead list has arrived. All titles are available as DRCs on Edelweiss or on NetGalley (see notes on our spreadsheet, LibraryReads, July).

The list’s debut titles were GalleyChat favorites:

   


Fruit of the Drunken Tree
, Ingrid Rojas Contreras, (PRH/Random House/Doubleday),

Skillyfully intertwining recent Colombian history with a coming of age story, GalleyChatters describe this as a “… beautiful, enthralling novel … Full of impossible situations and undesirable choices… truly is a must read.” The author’s essay, “On Not Writing For White People” gives insight into the difficulty of bridging cultures and languages. In another essay, she writes about a chilling irony, “I Became An American The Day Trump Made His ‘Shithole Countries’ Comment.”

Dear Mrs. Bird, AJ Pearce, (S&S/Scribner)

The Irish Times calls it “Bridget Jones of the Blitz: AJ Pearce’s happy war story.” On GalleyChat, it was described as, “Historical fiction that’s charming and fun and easy to recommend” and  “perfect for fans of Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society. The author is profiled in the Guardian‘s “Meet the new faces of fiction for 2018.

Baby Teeth, Zoje Stage,(Macmillan/ St. Martin’s)

GalleyChatters call this story of a little girl who wants to kill her mother “creepy” and “memorable.” Kaite Stover may have come up with the ultimate description, “think Children of the Artisinal Organically-Farmed Corn.”

The author was featured on Library Jounal’s April cover and on the Book Expo Thriller Panel, but as she describes on her blog, she nearly gave up her dreams of becoming an author. Until she becomes a household name, Macmillan Library Marketing tells us her first name is pronounced “Zoh-yeh” not “Zoh-gee.”

Note the cover’s clever variation on the “exploding flower” image used on Liane Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret. (another variation is the “spontaneously combusting flower” on Meg Abbot’s Give Me Your Hand, also on this month’s LibraryReads list).

Comments are closed.